• facebook
  • youtube
  • Canvas
  • mymacc
  • apply now

MACC Singers Holiday Concert


The 30 voice MACC Singers, under the direction of Karen Werner, will present ‘A Season of Thanksgiving and Peace’ on Friday, November 20, 2009 at 7:00 p.m. in the MACC Auditorium. The concert will include music for Thanksgiving and Christmas.

The concert will begin with an arrangement using the words of Silent Night. The choir will then continue with “Ubi caritas” from the Quatre Motets by the famous French composer Maurice Durufle. Other selections will include the “Prayer of Thanksgiving” which most American know as ‘We gather together’, “Bethlehem Spiritual”, and a Ray Charles arrangement of “Jingle Bells” originally sung by the famous Ray Charles Singers.

The women will perform two selections titled “The Snow” by the English composer Edward Elgar and a John Jacob Niles arrangement of “Jesus, Jesus, rest your head”. Amy Johns, MACC Coordinator of Instructional Technology, will be the featured soprano soloist in the Niles arrangement. The men will also be featured in an arrangement of “Hark, the Herald Angels Sing”.

The concert will conclude with the acknowledgement of the Missouri soldiers that have died in the line of duty during the Iraq and Afghanistan wars. Since 2003 there have been two MACC student fatalities and one, William Edens, was a former member of the MACC Singers. The ending selection will be the “Dona Nobis Pacem” (Grant Us Peace) from the B minor Mass by Johann Sebastian Bach.

The concert will be accompanied by Paul Perkins and a reception in the MACC Commons will be held after the concert. Concert tickets are $5.00 and $3.00 for children 12 and under. The concert is free for all MACC students with ID. Advance tickets may be purchased at the MACC Cashier’s Office or tickets may be purchased at the door.



View our Archived Articles