• facebook
  • youtube
  • Canvas
  • mymacc
  • apply now


MACC Students Take State and Regional Honors

Three Moberly Area Community College students were recognized in the 2016 Breaking Traditions Awards contest. For over twenty years, the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) has sponsored the awards to recognize outstanding, non-traditional, career and technical students and the adults who support them.

Approximately 90 students were finalists in this year's contest. Winners were honored on April 27th during an awards ceremony at the James C Kirkpatrick State Information Interpretive Center in Jefferson City. MACC's winners and honorable mention students were recognized locally at the New Traditions/Breaking Traditions Scholarship Award Ceremony on April 18th on the Moberly Campus.

Megan Ryan, Columbia, MO, won the state level, post-secondary female, non-traditional category. She is majoring in Engineering Design and Development – Architectural and Mechanical Design and was nominated by instructor Deanna Blickhan.

Daniel Hourchi, Columbia, MO, a first year Associate Degree Nursing student in Moberly received the regional award for Post-Secondary Male in Region II, Northeastern Missouri. He was nominated by Assistant Professor Carisa Atkins.

Matthew Hawley, Columbia, MO, received an Honorable Mention. He is a Practical Nursing Student on the Moberly campus and was nominated by Practical Nursing Coordinator Terry Bichsel.

A nontraditional career is an occupation or field of work in which individuals from one gender comprise less than 25 percent of the individuals employed in that occupation or field. Breaking Traditions honors outstanding students who have chosen specific career and technical programs based on their interests and abilities, and who have not let their gender influence their career decisions.

Career Centers, public two-year colleges and comprehensive high schools can nominate a single student from each nontraditional program. A panel of judges chooses winners from nine regions in the state. Those finalists then compete for male and female secondary and postsecondary/adult State awards.

State winners receive scholarship offers from every Missouri Community College and from the State Technical College of Missouri. In addition, each winner who continues his or her education next fall receives a $100 scholarship from the Foundation for Missouri Women.

For more information about Breaking Traditions or technical programs at MACC, contact Pat Riely, Director of Career and Placement Services, at (660) 263-4100 ext 11232.


View our Archived Articles