• facebook
  • youtube
  • Canvas
  • mymacc
  • apply now

MACC Awards Scholarships


Twenty-five New Traditions scholars attending Moberly Area Community College were recognized in a recent scholarship awards ceremony on the main campus in Moberly. Awards totaling over $7000 came from a variety of sources, including the college, a state program for displaced homemakers, and private donors.

New Traditions scholars are exemplary students who overcame economic barriers or other obstacles, such as being in a nontraditional program for their gender, and are recognized for academic achievements. Scholarships are awarded in the fall and spring semesters.

Receiving MACC New Traditions Institutional Awards were Stephanie Ley of Moberly, Kerri Bunch of Moberly, Mary VanCleve of Moberly, Patricia Huskey of Columbia, and Corinne Pass of Columbia.

G.E. Capital Solutions presented scholarships to Ashley Morrison of Monroe City, Joyce Stahlschmidt of Paris, Ashley Dowell of Ashland, Jennifer Johnson of Columbia, Jeri Mertensmeyer of Ashland, Lisa Stiner of Kirksville, and Ashlee Wertz of New Bloomfield.

Displaced Homemaker Fee Waiver Scholarships were presented to Dottie Rasmussen of Moberly, Elizabeth Akers of Williamsburg, and Stefanie Schneider of Salisbury.

The Ruth Lawrence Memorial Scholarship was presented to Brittanie Frost of Fulton.

Others receiving scholarships were Julie Smith of Clifton Hill and April Montgomery of Moberly, Moberly Auxiliary 2654/VFW; Katie DeVore of Ladonnia, Carolee Hazlet Scholarship; Hope Walter of Moberly, PEKO-KJ Chapter Scholarship; Samantha Ingebritson of Huntsville, Business Women of Missouri-Huntsville Chapter; Amanda Ingersoll of Moberly, Beta Sigma Phi-Preceptor Laureate Eta; George Osebreh of Moberly and Anna Failor of Clark, Missouri Association for Family and Community Education (FCE); Elizabeth Schleicher of Brookfield, New Traditions Advisory Committee.

The scholarship program would not be possible without the support of contributions from local donors such as G.E. Capital, Beta Sigma Phi–Preceptor Laureate Eta, the Huntsville Chapter of the Business Women of Missouri, Carolee Hazlet, Randolph County Chapter of Family and Community Education, the Ladies Auxiliary to the VFW Post 2654, PEO-KJ Chapter, the Ruth Lawrence Memorial Fund, which was established by her daughters, and the New Traditions Advisory Committee.

Those interested in enrolling in or contributing to the MACC New Traditions program can contact Pat Twaddle, Director of Career and Placement Services, at(660) 263-4100 ext 11232.


Click on photo to enlarge


View our Archived Articles