• facebook
  • youtube
  • Canvas
  • mymacc
  • apply now

MACC Holds Medical Laboratory Technician Graduation


A graduation ceremony was held Friday, August 2, 2013, for the members of the fifth Moberly Area Community College Medical Laboratory Technician class to graduate from the Advanced Technology Center. The ceremony took place at 4:30 p.m. at Jansen Auditorium at Audrain Medical Center, Mexico, Missouri.

Amanda Kofman received the Academic Excellence Award for the student who consistently demonstrated outstanding scholarly performance throughout the program coursework.

Lisa Phillips received $1,000 national ASCP/Siemens scholarship for Medical Lab Science students. She also received $500 Pay It Forward scholarship. Jessica Wheat received a $500 per semester Allied Health Division scholarship.

All students benefited from the Missouri Health Wins grant initiative which covered the cost of their tuition during the final two semesters of the program. This Department of Labor workforce development program serves veterans, low-skilled, unemployed, and under employed to get them into critical need healthcare positions.

The speaker for the graduation was Cindy McKeon, Laboratory Director Bothwell Regional Health Center. The keynote address was given by Ms. Jo Fey, Dean of Career and Technical Education Moberly Area Community College. Also present representing MACC were Dr. Jeff C. Lashley, President, Ms. Ruth Jones, Director of Nursing and Allied Health Programs. Representing the Advanced Technology Center was Mr. Chad Wilson, Assistant Director.

There are 9 students enrolled in the 2013-2014 medical laboratory technician program. For more information about the medical laboratory technician program, call the Advanced Technology Center at 573-582-0817, extension 13619.

Click on photo to enlarge


View our Archived Articles