• facebook
  • youtube
  • Canvas
  • mymacc
  • apply now

MACC Honors Alumni and Friends at Annual Banquet


Moberly Area Community College alumni and friends gathered at the annual banquet April 27 at Heartland Banquet Center. In addition to recognizing anniversary classes and celebrating 30 years of Associate Degree in Nursing (A.D.N.) graduates, the Outstanding Alumni Award, the Outstanding Faculty Award, and the Distinguished Service Award were presented.

Susan Y. Rasmussen '83 was honored as the 2013 Outstanding Alumna. Rasmussen graduated from Moberly Area Community College in 1983 with an Associate's Degree in Nursing. She was a member of the first A.D.N. class to graduate from the College. Since that time, she has spent her career helping people and continuing her education in the nursing field.

Since 2006, Rasmussen has been a Family Nurse Practitioner with Moberly Regional Medical Center in Moberly. Prior to that she was an F.N.P. with Dr. David Fleming and the Woodland Internist Group for 11 years. She also previously worked with Dr. Thomas Bragg. In addition to practicing nursing, Susan taught nursing classes at MACC, Central Methodist University, University of Missouri-Columbia, and St. Louis University.

Rasmussen received her Bachelor of Science degree in nursing (B.S.N.) from Northeast Missouri State University (Truman) in Kirksville, and a Master of Science degree in nursing (M.S.N.) from the University of Missouri in Columbia. She is currently a student in the Doctorate of Nursing Program (D.N.P.) program at St. Louis University.

Active in the Missouri Nurses Association, Rasmussen is presently involved in the legislative process on health care policy. Susan has been very active in area communities over the years, serving as a guest lecturer on health-related topics for community organizations, Moberly Regional Medical Center, and Central Christian College of the Bible. She also volunteers at local sports events and provides physical examinations.

"I am proud to be a part of this community," Rasmussen said. "I'm proud to have been a member of the first R.N. class at MACC, and I hope I've made a small contribution and difference to others that live and work here."

Rasmussen enjoys teaching her patients how to live healthier lives.

"I like empowering people with knowledge and watching them improve their own health," Rasmussen said. "For me, every day is a learning experience and a challenge. People do not realize I learn from them also."

GoodRadio.TV was presented with the 2013 Distinguished Service Award. In 2007, Good Radio.TV began with the purchase of radio stations in Moberly, Macon, Madison, Farmington, Festus, Waynesville, Lebanon, Clinton, Bethany and Cameron, Missouri along with Newton, Grinnell and Fairfield, Iowa. In each community Good Radio is involved in the daily lives of its listeners.

In Moberly, GoodRadio.TV serves the area with KWIX, KRES, KIRK and KTCM radio and the online newspaper, centralmoinfo.com. Dozens of farm, news, and sports reports, along with weathercasts are featured daily. There are over 350 local high school and college sporting events representing 53 high schools and four colleges broadcast each year. The station is also involved in over 75 county fairs and festivals in its 20 county coverage area. It was the first broadcast station in Missouri (1984) with Doppler Weather Radar.

The staff of 30 professionals covers interests and concerns, shares the joys and sorrows, talks with and listens to over a quarter million Missourians each day. KWIX, KRES, KIRK and KTCM Radio play a very meaningful part in the daily lives of listeners. In addition, centralmoinfo.com is the community-gathering place for over 25,000 Central Missourians each month.

According to general manager Les Tuttle, "Service is what we strive to be known for so we are very proud to receive this year's Distinguished Service Award."

Dr. Evelyn Jorgenson, MACC President, presented Bradford C. Brockmeier with the 2013 Outstanding Faculty Award. Brockmeier began teaching at Moberly Area Community College in August 1995, and is currently an associate professor of biological sciences. Brockmeier teaches human anatomy, physiology, and introductory conservation biology.

Brockmeier holds a Bachelor of Science degree in forestry from the University of Missouri and a Master of Science degree in biology from Central Missouri State University.

In addition to his teaching role at MACC, Brockmeier has served as the Criterion 4 Co-Chair for the Higher Learning Commission Accreditation Visit in 2011.

Members of the anniversary classes of 1953 and 1963 and A.D.N. anniversary classes of 1983 and 1993 were recognized.

Brother's Ox and NGN inductees were also recognized at the banquet. Brother's Ox is a men's honorary service organization, which was established at the College in 1928. NGN is a women's service organization and was established at the College in 1935. Each year, MACC faculty members nominate seven men and seven women to become members of the honorary organizations.

The 2013 Brother's Ox inductees are: Tyler Gibson, Matthew Lear, and Matthew West from Columbia, Mo.; Alex Houston from Fulton, Mo.; Luke Sears from Madison, Mo.; William 'Taylor' Snell from Excello, Mo.; and Matthew Ward from Moberly, Mo.

NGN inductees for 2013 are: Shana Rhoades from Clark, Mo.; Mackensey Rapp from Rocheport, Mo.; Lauren Wiseman from Jefferson City, Mo.; Maja Jaszczynska from Warsaw, Poland; Bayli Riley from Kirksville, Mo.; Dorothy 'Claire' Lardizabal and Vanity Allen from Columbia, Mo.


View our Archived Articles