• facebook
  • youtube
  • Canvas
  • mymacc
  • apply now

Five MACC Students honored in the Statewide Breaking Traditions Award Contest

Five Moberly Area Community College (MACC) students were recognized in the Breaking Traditions Awards contest this year. Associate Degree Nursing student Micah Graviett, Moberly, received top honors in this contest as State Postsecondary/adult Male winner this year. He was nominated by Assistant Professor of Nursing Shelli Dougherty. Stephanie Ley, Moberly, majoring in Welding and Metals Technology, was the State Postsecondary/adult Female winner. She was nominated by Patricia Twaddle, Director of Career and Placement Services.

MACC students also won both male and female postsecondary awards for Region II. Practical Nursing student Reynald Lachhman, Columbia, was nominated by Terry Bichsel, Practical Nursing Coordinator, and Andrea Wilson, Keytesville, Industrial Technology – Power Plant emphasis, was nominated by Patricia Twaddle. Additionally, Christina Zeagler, Columbia, Drafting Design Technology student, received recognition in the Honorable Mention category. She was nominated by Deanna Blickhan, Drafting Design Instructor.

For the past 18 years the Breaking Traditions Awards contest has honored outstanding students who have chosen specific nontraditional career and technical education programs based on their interests and abilities, and who have not let their gender influence their career decisions. Nontraditional programs are defined as those in which individuals from one gender comprise less than 25 percent of the individuals employed in that field. Outstanding educators who are teaching in a nontraditional career program and who are supportive of nontraditional students are also recognized. The contest is open to students in Missouri’s 22 community colleges and 52 career and technical schools. To qualify for entrance into this competition, students must be nominated by their instructors or a school administrator.

It is extremely unusual to have two state winners from the same school, considering that so many students compete for these awards. Although MACC students won many top awards in Region II in the first 17 years of the contest, MACC students had only won a total of three state awards up until this year. MACC’s career and technical program faculty and staff are very proud of their students’ achievements.

State winners Mr. Graviett and Ms. Ley were honored on April 20 at a ceremony at the Governor’s Mansion in Jefferson City, with the awards presented by Dennis Harden, Coordinator of Career Education for the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education. Again this year, State winners will receive scholarship offers from every Missouri Community College and from Linn State Technical College. In addition, this year each winner will receive a scholarship from the Friends of the Missouri Women’s Council on behalf of the Missouri Women’s Council.

The regional and honorable mention winners were recognized in a local ceremony on the MACC campus on March 21. Each of the five winning students will be eligible for a $500 New Traditions scholarship provided by MACC next fall. All five winners also received monetary awards from the Region II Career Education Coordinator, Diana Reynolds, Kirksville.

Sponsored by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE), the Missouri Center for Career Education (MCCE) and the MCCE Career Education Coordinators, the Breaking Traditions awards are an excellent opportunity for students, career-technical programs, educators and schools to receive recognition and statewide publicity. For more information and a complete list of State, Regional and Honorable Mention winners, please check the Breaking Traditions website at www.breakingtraditionsmissouri.org


View our Archived Articles