• apply now
  • Canvas
  • mymacc
  • enroll now

Cybersecurity Certificate of Specialization

Academic Map

One semester, 16-credit hour certificate for students who have already completed the AAS Information Technology Networking degree or have specific industry experience that would prepare them for this coursework. Classes will focus on entry-level cybersecurity topics.

Course Required Courses
 ITC255  ^Cyber Security - Spring Only 3
 ITC265  ^Project Management - Spring Only 3
 ITC270  ^Cyber Regulation & Compliance - Spring Only 3
 ITC271  ^Network Monitoring & Penetration Testing - Spring Only 3
 ITC283  ^Systems Project: CybersecuritySpring Only 3
 SKL101 or
 College Orientation or
 Employment Seminar
  Minimum Required Hours for Certificate of Specialization 16

*Certificate is granted upon successful completion of all required courses totaling 16 credit hours.

**Virtual course delivery is available for all “ITC” classes required in this certificate and for many other required classes. Talk to your program advisor to learn which courses are offered in the virtual delivery format.

***Note for all Information Technology AAS degrees and certificates (32 credit hour and Certificates of Specialization): A grade of “C” or better must be achieved in all required ITC courses (course prefix “ITC”) to earn an AAS degree, certificate, or certificate of specialization).

^Please refer to the course descriptions for pre/co-requisite and placement information. You can only register for these courses if you have met the prerequisite, placed into the course and/or enroll in the co-requisite course(s).

This academic map is not a contract, either expressed or implied, between MACC and the student, but represents a flexible program of the current curriculum which may be altered from time to time to meet the academic objectives of the college. MACC specifically reserves the right to modify, delete, or add to any academic map at any time within the student’s period of study at the college.