• facebook
  • youtube
  • Canvas
  • mymacc
  • apply now

MACC Holds Practical Nurse Pinning

A pinning ceremony was held Wednesday evening, July 21, 2010, for members of the thirteenth Moberly Area Community College (MACC) practical nursing class to graduate from the Advanced Technology Center. The ceremony took place at the First Presbyterian Church, Mexico, MO.

The following scholarship recipients were recognized: Mercedes Heaton, Amber Howdeshell, Amber Mills, Mildred Moser, Deborah Phelps, and Vanessa Bellers received a Griffin Family Foundation Nursing Scholarship, made possible by the late Anna Margaret Griffin. Marcene Dismang received the Bonnie Erwin Memorial Practical Nursing Scholarship, made possible by the family of the late Bonnie Erwin.

Mildred Moser received the Academic Excellence Award for the highest cumulative grade point average for the year. Holly Phillips received the Clinical Excellence Award for showing the most improvement in the clinical area, and Amy Thompson received the Outstanding Nursing Student Award for overall outstanding performance while enrolled in the practical nursing program.

Marcene Dismang, Mildred Moser and Deborah Phelps were recognized for their membership in Phi Theta Kappa, the largest international Honor and Scholastic Society for two-year college students. Phi Theta Kappa promotes scholarship, character development and leadership.

The speaker for the evening was Susan Gale, R.N., B.S.N., a current nursing instructor for MACC at the Advanced Technology Center. Ms. Gale talked about the unique duties and rewards of nursing. Using Florence Nightingale as an example of caring and courage, Ms. Gale challenged the graduates to take advantage of their special position to give of themselves to others and truly make a difference in the lives of the people they care for in the future. Also present representing MACC were Dr. Evelyn E. Jorgenson, President, Dr. Greg Mosier, Dean of Career and Technical Education, Ms. Susan Brouk, Director of Career and Technical Programs, and Ruth Jones, R.N., M.S., Director of Nursing and Allied Health Programs. Representing the Advanced Technology Center were Mr. A.J. Probst, Executive Director, Mrs. Caroline Groves, Director, and Mr. Chad Wilson, Assistant Director.

Following the ceremony, refreshments were served in the church fellowship hall for family and friends of the students. Assisting with refreshments were Holly Whitworth, Caroline Groves, Chad Wilson, Nicole King, Carla Hobbs and Michelle Scanavino.



View our Archived Articles