• facebook
  • youtube
  • Canvas
  • mymacc
  • apply now



MACC Holds Practical Nurse Pinning



A pinning ceremony was held Wednesday evening, July 23, 2014, to celebrate the graduation of the members of the 17th Moberly Area Community College (MACC) Practical Nursing Class from the Advanced Technology Center. The ceremony took place at the First Presbyterian Church, Mexico, Missouri.

Amie Johnson, Bobbie Ferrell, Danielle Ingrum, Steven Jones, Taylor Ancell, and Lesleah Roberts received a Griffin Family Foundation Nursing Scholarship, made possible by the late Anna Margaret Griffin. Deana Harig received the Bonnie Erwin Memorial Practical Nursing Scholarship, made possible by the family of the late Bonnie Erwin.

Bobbie Ferrell received the Academic Excellence Award for the highest cumulative grade point average for the year. Angela Kemp received the Clinical Excellence Award for showing the most improvement in the clinical area, and Rosemary Sawe received the Outstanding Nursing Student Award for overall outstanding performance while enrolled in the practical nursing program. Sydney Kaiser and Hope Gastler received the Perfect Attendance Award.

Taylor Ancell, Sydney Kaiser, and Rosemary Sawe were recognized for their membership in Phi Theta Kappa, the largest international Honor and Scholastic Society for two-year college students. Phi Theta Kappa promotes scholarship, character development and leadership.

The speaker for the evening was Mr. Danny Latham, L.P.N. Also present representing MACC were Dr. Jeff C. Lashley, President, Dr. Paula Glover, Vice President for Instruction, Mrs. Suzanne McGarvey, Director of Career and Technical Programs, and Mrs. Ruth Jones, R.N., M.S., Director of Nursing and Allied Health Programs. Representing the Advanced Technology Center was Mrs. Caroline Groves, Director.

Following the ceremony, refreshments were served in the church fellowship hall for family and friends of the students. Assisting with refreshments were Holly Whitworth, Caroline Groves, Rhonda Curtis, Tanna Whitworth, Chad Wilson, and Michelle Scanavino.

There are 26 students enrolled in the 2014-2015 practical nursing class which begins Monday, August 4, 2014. For more information about the practical nursing program, call the Advanced Technology Center at 573-582-0817, extension 13619.



Members of the class receiving practical nursing certificates are pictured above (left to right) row 1: Lauren Swaim, Angela Kemp, Rosemary Sawe, Stephanie Benson, Roberta Ferrell, Kellie Clarkston, Victoria Luna, Hillary Woolfolk, Courtney Wilson, Grace Neal; row 2, Lesleah Roberts, Shannon Grote, Taylor Ancell, Steven Jones, Michael Jones, Jessica Higgenbotham, Wendy Beshears, Hope Gastler, Sydney Kaiser; row 3, Alisha Arens, Danielle Ingrum, Pam Tipton, R.N., M.S.N., Coordinator, Stephnie Baldwin, R.N., B.S.N, Instructor, Susan Gale, R.N., B.S.N, Assistant Professor, Deana Harig, Amie Johnson.

Photo taken by Memories by Kathy (Kathy Lewis)



View our Archived Articles