• facebook
  • youtube
  • Canvas
  • mymacc
  • apply now

MACC Awards New Traditions Scholarships


Moberly Area Community College recently held an awards ceremony to present scholarships through the New Traditions program. The scholarship funds come from a variety of sources, including MACC, a state grant for displaced homemakers, and local businesses and civic organizations.

The ceremony also honors Breaking Traditions winners. The Breaking Traditions award is a regional and state-level honor for students who have chosen a field that is considered nontraditional for their gender. A nontraditional female student is enrolled in a career-technical program that has a male population of 75 percent or more. A nontraditional male student is enrolled in a career-technical program that has a female population of 75 percent or more.

Jennifer Temple & Austin McCoy won regional Breaking Traditions awards. Temple is a drafting design technology student and was nominated by MACC Drafting Design Technology Instructor Deanna Blickhan. McCoy is an Associate Degree nursing student and was nominated by MACC Assistant Professor of Nursing Carisa Atkins. Practical Nursing students Steven Jones and Christopher Swaine both received honorable mentions.

The following students received scholarships.

Tamara Klingsmith, Stefanie Schneider, and Uzma Zumbrink received the Displaced Homemaker Fee Waiver Scholarship. Kerri Bunch, Stephanie Ley, Corrine Pass, and Mary VanCleve were awarded the MACC New Traditions Institutional Award. Hope Rogers received the Beta Sigma Phi-Preceptor Laureate Eta scholarship. The Business Women of Missouri-Huntsville Chapter award went to Samantha Ingebritson. Elizabeth Perkins received the Carolee Hazlet Scholarship.

April Montgomery and Kimberly Young received the Missouri Association for Family and Community Education (FCE) award. The G.E. Capital Solutions scholarship was awarded to Ayona Grissom, Jeri Mertensmeyer, Ashley Morrison, Andrea Perkins, Elizabeth Schleicher, Lisa Stiner, and Sophia Wilder. Amanda Ingersoll and Dorothy Rasmussen received the Moberly Auxiliary 2654/VFW scholarship. The New Traditions Advisory Committee scholarship went to Amanda Alexander. Salzitsa Iloff received the PEO-KJ Chapter Scholarship. Brittanie Frost and Rebecca Whitworth received the Ruth Lawrence Memorial Scholarship.

Eligibility for scholarships includes academic standing plus overcoming a barrier to educational achievement. Barriers include seeking a career that is not traditional for one's gender, being a single parent, displaced homemaker or dislocated worker, having a disability, limited English proficiency or economic disadvantage. Many of the scholarships are awarded to students in Associate of Applied Science or Associate Degree Nursing courses of study, although private scholarships may also be awarded to students working toward an Associate of Arts degree.

Those interested in participating in the New Traditions program may contact Pat Twaddle, MACC Director of Career & Placement Services, at 660-263-4100 x11232.


Click on photo to enlarge


View our Archived Articles