• facebook
  • youtube
  • Canvas
  • mymacc
  • apply now

MACC Holds Annual Employee Appreciation Banquet


The annual Employee Appreciation Banquet was held at Moberly Area Community College on May 9, 2013. Dr. Evelyn E. Jorgenson, president of MACC, welcomed employees and their guests to the event. Following a buffet dinner, Service Awards were introduced by Gary Steffes, MACC Vice President of Finance and presented by Greg Walker, MACC Board of Trustees President, and Dr. Jorgenson.

The following employees received Service Awards:

Five Years
Elaine Avery, Jeanne Bastian, Susan Brouk, Denise Caldarello, Deanne Fessler, David Fray, Tarasa Gardner, Jessica Heintz, Beth Lewis, Dee Dee McCollum, Katherine Peavler, Michelle Scanavino, Marsha Shuler, Chase Stamp, Angela Walker, Candice Walker, Holly Whitworth

Ten Years
Teresa Attebery, Susan Burden, Ron Dulany, Kathy Hedrick, Dawn Helm, Heather Lowery

Fifteen Years
Jeanie Gelski, Amy Hager, Tony Killian, Ben Leach, Donnie Meador, Nicole Morgenstern, George Mummert

Twenty Years
James Grant, Nancy Ketchum, Laird Okie, Lynn Walker, Kristine Zauke

Twenty-Five Years
Lloyd Marchant, Jane Roads

Thirty Years
Valerie Darst

The MACC Innovation award was presented to Danny Lobina and Diane Richardson for their work over the last year in the Small Business Technology Development Center (SBTDC) with Grow Mid-Missouri.

Now in its thirteenth year, the Innovation Award recognizes creative initiatives and programs that improve MACC. Mr. Lobina & Mrs. Richardson represented MACC's commitment to Grow Mid-Missouri as they worked with many individuals from local businesses.

Grow Mid-Missouri began in spring 2012 and is a partnership between MACC, the Moberly Area Chamber of Commerce, and the Moberly Area Economic Development Center. Its purpose is to expand entrepreneurial and small business services, workforce development activities, funding and partnership options, and evaluate new economic opportunities in the region. Programs similar to this have experienced success in the Kansas City area; however this is the first of its kind to be developed in a rural area.

The Adjunct Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching is an annual award given to one adjunct faculty member from each of MACC's regional sites. Recipients are chosen by nomination of faculty, staff, and students. The recipient must be currently teaching or have taught for MACC the previous academic year, have taught at least 9 college hours in the last three years at any MACC site, and have achieved satisfactory administrative and student evaluations.

Dr. Jorgenson recognized the following Adjunct Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award Recipients:
Columbia – Court Montgomery
Hannibal – Karen Meade
Kirksville – Jeanie Casady
Mexico – Barbara Burson
Moberly – Marlena Pence
Online – Patti Shanks
Dual Credit – Matthew Copeland, Adair County R-II School

Dr. Jorgenson also recognized participants from the second annual Teamwork and Leadership Program (TLP). Dr. Jorgenson developed the TLP to provide teamwork and leadership development to full-time MACC employees. Each year, up to 10 participants are chosen from a pool of applicants. The group spends a year job shadowing other departments, participating in national community college conferences and discussion of leadership and the importance of teamwork.

The MACC TLP is founded on the belief that teamwork and leadership skills can be learned and that members of the college community can utilize those skills as they work in their current roles or move into new positions.

This year's TLP participants were Terry Bichsel, Kim Erwin, Michelle Frey, Amy Johns, Amanda Moore, Ann Ostermann, Tammy Richardson, Joyce Riley, and Ellen Williams.


Click on photo to enlarge


View our Archived Articles