• facebook
  • youtube
  • Canvas
  • mymacc
  • apply now

MACC Holds GED Recognition Ceremony


A recognition ceremony was recently held in the Moberly Area Community College Auditorium to honor the Adult Education and Literacy (AEL) students who had successfully earned a General Education Development Diploma.

Ms. Jo Fey, Dean of Career and Technical Education, welcomed the honorees, their friends and family members to the ceremony. After presentation of scholarships, and recognition of instructors and volunteers, there was a time of reflections from current and former AEL students and staff. A special time of recognition was given to Ms. Susie Cason for her years of dedication to the program.

Dr. Evelyn Jorgenson, MACC President, was the keynote speaker and participated in the ceremony. In her address, Dr. Jorgenson related personal experiences over her career that emphasized her connection to the AEL program. She commended the graduates for their tenacity in completing their degree, reminding them that their degree would not only make a difference in themselves, but also their entire family.

After the presentation of diplomas, a reception for friends and family followed in the Auditorium.

MACC and the AEL program would like to thank the generosity of the following supporters: McDonald's, Pizza Hut, Sonic, Subway, Taco Bell, Wal-Mart.

Group ShotA
MACC's spring 2013 GED graduates include:
Front Row (left to right): Rose Ann Stoner (Honorary speaker), Breanda Fifer, Maria Cedillo-Seldal, Jessica Daye, Stephanie Dodd, Debbie Killbreth, Kourtney Martin, Melanie McCracken, Barbara Potter (AEL Coordinator), Megan Harlan (AEL secretary)
Row 2: Judith Carr (AEL Instructor), Iris Bonham, Trina Collum, Bridgette Friesz, Charissa Gaage, Taylor March, Ashley Scott, Colene Wilson (AEL Instructor), Dr. James Grant (Dean of Student Services)
Row 3: Susie Cason (Director of AEL), Virginia Boyles, Carter Cason, Kenneth Moore, Brenda Richardson, Brenda Smoot, Jo Fey (Dean of Career and Technical Education)
Row 4: Ben Parker, Veronica Cedillo-Glasgow, Cody Pickering, Christina Turner, Karen Robnett (AEL Instructor), Dr. Evelyn Jorgenson (President of Moberly Area Community College)
Back right corner: Bill Fountain (AEL Instructor), Mya McClain (AEL Instructor) and Dr. Jeff Lashley (MACC Vice President of Instruction)

Scholarship ged
Scholarship recipients (l-r) Mr. Stephen Munoz and Veronica Cedillo-Glasgow are shown with Dr. Jeff Lashley, Dr. Evelyn Jorgenson, Dr. James Grant, and Jo Fey.


View our Archived Articles