• facebook
  • youtube
  • Canvas
  • mymacc
  • apply now

MACC Announces New President


The Board of Trustees of Moberly Area Community College announced early today that Dr. Jeffrey Lashley will be the next president of Moberly Area Community College.

"On behalf of the Board of Trustees, I want to express how excited we are that Dr. Jeff Lashley has accepted our offer to become the next President of MACC," said Chairman of the Board, Greg Walker. "The unanimous vote indicates the Board's confidence in Dr. Lashley's ability to lead this institution and continue its mission to serve the students and communities throughout the 16-county service area in northeast Missouri."

Dr. Lashley has served as Vice-President for Instruction as well as Dean of Academic Affairs at MACC for a combined period of ten years. Prior to that Dr. Lashley was a full-time faculty member at MACC for six years.

"As a Board, we have seen the positive contributions Dr. Lashley has made as a member of the administrative team. He has worked closely with Dr. Jorgenson as Vice President these past several years and we believe his profound knowledge of the institution will serve the college well," Walker said. "Jeff Lashley has also earned a solid reputation among his peers throughout Missouri's colleges and has chaired and served on numerous statewide committees with the Coordinating Board for Higher Education. We look forward to Dr. Lashley's leadership, vision and direction for MACC."

MACC President Dr. Evelyn Jorgenson said, "I know that Dr. Lashley has the qualities and characteristics necessary to be a great president. I have always admired his honesty and integrity and I know that he will be a fine leader for this great college. He and I will work together to make the transition a smooth one."

Dr. Lashley has a Ph.D. from Iowa State University and master's and bachelor's degrees from Truman State University. Dr. Lashley also attended MACC prior to transferring to Truman.

Dr. Lashley stated that he is very grateful for the opportunity and wants to thank the Board of Trustees, as well as the faculty and staff who have been supportive of him through the years.

He will begin his role as president on July 1, 2013 following the retirement of Dr. Evelyn Jorgenson who has been president since 1996.


View our Archived Articles