• facebook
  • youtube
  • Canvas
  • mymacc
  • apply now

MACC Holds PTK Induction Ceremony

Moberly Area Community College students were recently inducted into MACC's Alpha Tau Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa.

Phi Theta Kappa was organized at Moberly Area Community College in 1931. The organization is part of an international scholastic society for two-year college students. The purpose of this diverse organization is to provide hands-on learning opportunities for developing leadership skills through participation in service, scholarship, and fellowship activities. To be eligible for membership, a student must have a 3.5 cumulative grade point average and have completed 12 credit hours with MACC. A letter of invitation to join Phi Theta Kappa is sent to eligible students during the fall and spring semesters. Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education institutions.

In Greek mythology, Glaucus (Glaux) is the owl of Athena. Because of its superior night vision and nocturnal habits, the owl is the symbol of wisdom and vigilance. Like the owl, faculty and staff are the source of wisdom in each student's learning journey and are vigilant in conveying their knowledge to future generations. The members of the Alpha Tau Chapter presented this semester's Glaux award to Beth Lewis, Associate Professor of Language and Literature, and Jeff Freelin Adjunct Instructor of Philosophy, in appreciation of their guidance and support of the student body.

PA121719Front row (R to L) Alex Henke, Annette Franklin, Lauren Wiseman; Row 2 – Nicole Coffin, Rebecca Garrett, Meghan Lawson; Row 3 – Loretta Derboven, Jourdan Cunningham, Hailey Salmons, Sierra Richmond, Matthew Ward; Row 4 – Rebecca Crowley, Lex Clarkson, Angie McLane; Row 5 – Jamie Arnold, Amber Allen, Mahasin Awadelkarim; Not present for photo: Sheila Bagley Daniel Berry, Katrina Burgess, Kathleen Hopkins, Lilit Khamalyan, Stevie Morrison, Carrie Puckett, Naomi Rider, Brian Scheurer, Mary VanCleve, Charlotte Bail, Heather Battenfield, Misti Bogeart, Stacy Boling, Charniece Carter, Shelby Curtis, Quintin Donald, Erin Drake, Sabria El-Kurbu, Erica Gardner, Jessica Goodman, Andrew Jasper, Lawrence Jerichow, Daniel Kump, Vanessa Leitza, Crystal Nelson, Huong Nguyen, Lindsey Rhoades, Hannah Salings, Caitlin Staats, Steven Stuart, Lauren Sweeten, Vickie Tanner, Joel Tayon, Kevin Woods, Kimberly Young.

PA121723Kelsey Fisher, Columbia Vice President, Christina Hull, Chapter President, Beth Lewis, recipient of Glaux Award, and Charles Jackson, Moberly Vice President

100 8053Jeff Freelin, recipient of Glaux Award and Ryan Kendall, MACC Student


View our Archived Articles