• facebook
  • youtube
  • Canvas
  • mymacc
  • apply now

MACC Awards CTE Students of the Year

The Moberly Area Community College and its partner area technical schools are pleased to announce its Career and Technical Secondary Students of the Year. The winner of this year’s award is Abigail Thomas, a senior at Moberly Senior High School and an agriculture student at Moberly Area Technical Center. The CTE Student of the Year award recognizes outstanding career and technical students for their hard work and dedication toward their community, education and careers.

Mark Chambers, Articulation Specialist for MACC stated, “Abigail and all of the students who applied have demonstrated a desire to succeed in their respective area of study; they have worked especially hard to put themselves in a position where they can take advantage of all of their educational options.”

Abigail plans to attend Moberly Area Community College and obtain her Associate of Arts degree.

The first runner-up is Kayla Stanfield, a marketing student from Madison C-3 High School and Moberly Area Technical Center; the second runner-up is Alexander Egley, a design drafting student from the Moberly Area Technical Center and Moberly High School; and the third runner-up is Loren Smith, a business student from Scotland County High School in Memphis, MO.

Winning honorable mention are Tyler Cross, a diesel technology student from Van-Far High School and Davis H. Hart Career Center; Kalob Dale, a welding student from Westran High School and Moberly Area Technical Center; and Stefanie Hollander, a business student from Milan C-2 High School and Kirksville Area Technical Center.

Kayli and the other seven students were honored at a ceremony on February 17, 2012, at Moberly Area Community College. Corey Mehaffy, President of the Moberly Area Economic Development Corporation was the guest speaker.

Northeast Missouri’s area technical schools and Moberly Area Community College honored its Secondary Career and Technical Students of the Year in a ceremony on the MACC campus on Friday, February 17, 2012. Pictured are Mark Chambers, Articulation Specialist at MACC, Kayla Stanfield, Madison C-3 High School; Alexander Egley, Moberly Senior High School; Abigail Thomas, CTE Student of the Year, Moberly Senior High School; Loren Smith, Scotland County High School; Tyler Cross, Van-Far High School; and Kalob Dale, Westran High School. Not pictured is Stefanie Hollander, Milan C-2 High School.


View our Archived Articles